utilized to compile the penalty statistics of each NFL team over the past five seasons to find the most disciplined teams over that span of time.

Keep in mind the average total over the past five seasons for an individual NFL team’s penalties is 501.

Most Disciplined Teams Since 2018

Overall RankNFL TeamTotal Penalties Since 2018
1L.A. Rams440
2Cincinnati Bengals443
3New England Patriots448
4Green Bay Packers450
5Indianapolis Colts458
6Atlanta Falcons463
7Minnesota Vikings469
8Chicago Bears474
9New York Giants479
10Tennessee Titans481

On-Field Discipline Hasn’t Translated to Wins

Photo: Illinois Bet

Of the 10 most disciplined teams since 2018, only the Bears and Atlanta Falcons have not won a playoff game during that timeframe, with Atlanta last making the postseason in 2017. Keep those streaks in mind when heading to BetMGM Sportsbook Illinois next fall.

Two of the teams ahead of the Bears have won Super Bowls, the L.A. Rams (2022) and New England Patriots (2018), while the Cincinnati Bengals made it to the Super Bowl in 2022.

The Green Bay Packers notched two postseason victories between 2018 and 2022, while the Indianapolis Colts and Vikings have a single playoff win apiece during that timeframe.

The Bears’ last playoff win came in 2010, when they knocked off the Seattle Seahawks in the NFC Divisional Round, 35-24, before falling to Green Bay in the NFC Championship game.

Strangely enough, the Bears’ consistent discipline under then-coach Matt Nagy (2018-2021) and current coach Matt Eberflus simply hasn’t translated to a winning product.

Featured Image: Illinois Bet
Comments are closed.

Check Also

NFL 2024 Schedule: Strength Ranked Team-By-Team

The NFL schedule release is the next milestone on the league’s calendar following th…