The National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum unveiled the second HBCU Bobblehead Series, which features 16 officially licensed bobbleheads for Historically Black Colleges and Universities.

In February, the Museum released the first HBCU Bobblehead Series featuring the first bobbleheads for 13 HBCU schools.

The bobbleheads are being produced by the National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum and are being released in conjunction with the start of the 2023-24 school year.

The schools included in the second series are:

  • Albany State University Rams
  • Cheyney University of Pennsylvania Wolves
  • Clark Atlanta University Panthers
  • Coppin State University Eagles
  • Elizabeth City State University Vikings
  • Fayetteville State University Broncos
  • Florida A&M University Rattlers
  • Morehouse College Maroon Tigers
  • North Carolina A&T University Aggies
  • Prairie View A&M University Panthers
  • South Carolina State University Bulldogs
  • Southern University Jaguars
  • Virginia State University Trojans
  • Winston-Salem State University Rams.

The bobbleheads for Florida A&M University and North Carolina A&T University in Series 2 feature the school’s female mascots.

The schools that were included in the first series, which was released in February, are:

  • Alabama A&M University Bulldogs
  • Alabama State University Hornets
  • Delaware State University Hornets
  • Florida A&M University Rattlers
  • Fayetteville State University Broncos
  • Grambling State University Tigers
  • Howard University Bison
  • Jackson State University Tigers
  • Morgan State University Bears
  • North Carolina A&T State University Aggies
  • North Carolina Central University Eagles
  • Norfolk State University Spartans
  • Tuskegee University Golden Tigers

Photo: National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum

Standing on a base bearing the school’s nickname across the front, each mascot bobblehead proudly wears the school colors in front of a backing featuring the school logo. Each bobblehead is individually numbered 2,023, and they are currently only available through the National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum’s Online Store.

The bobbleheads are $35 each, plus a flat-rate shipping charge of $8 per order. The HBCU Bobbleheads in Series 2 are scheduled to arrive between now and November, depending on the school, and the bobbleheads from Series 1 recently arrived.

Each school receives a percentage of the sales generated from their bobblehead.

Primarily located in the South and founded during the Reconstruction era, there are more than 100 colleges in the United States that are identified by the U.S. Department of Education as Historically Black Colleges and Universities. HBCUs were originally established in the 19th century to make quality, accredited higher education available to Black Americans.

Due to slavery, segregation, and systemic racism, traditionally white institutions denied Black Americans admission. The Higher Education Act of 1965 defines HBCUs as accredited higher education institutions established before 1964 whose “principal mission was, and is, the education of Black Americans.” In the past, these institutions admitted only Black students. Today, HBCUs admit learners of all races.

Among the prominent graduates of HBCUs are civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr., United States Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall, and United States Vice President Kamala Harris.

“We’re excited to be expanding the HBCU Bobblehead Collection with the addition of 16 additional bobbleheads,” National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum co-founder and CEO Phil Sklar said.

“The first series was extremely popular and led to requests for several more schools and mascots. We know these bobbleheads, which celebrate the rich history of these amazing institutions, will be very popular with the alumni, students, faculty, staff, fans, and communities.”

Photo: National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum

Comments are closed.

Check Also

First-Ever Everest North American Curling Club Championships to Air on TSN and CBS

The Inaugural Everest North American Curling Club Championships are thrilled to announce t…